December 30, 2007

Roddy Doyle: The Snapper

Posted in Doyle Roddy at 1:31 pm by John Self

After Saul Bellow, whom I always find a struggle, I fancied something easy to read in that dead time between Christmas and New Year. I enjoyed Roddy Doyle’s Paula Spencer some months ago, and I’m due to read A Star Called Henry for a book group next year, so thought I might go back in time to his Barrytown trilogy, and read the second book, The Snapper (1990).

The Snapper

In this, Doyle is still to some extent in embryonic form as a writer: there is less depth to the story than in the Paula Spencer books, but his ability to conjure a character almost exclusively from dialogue is fully present. No characters are described by appearance: it’s all in the voice. And even though the only character whose mind we get to see into at any length is Sharon Rabbitte, who announces her pregnancy at the start of the book (“- You’re wha’?, said Jimmy Rabbitte Sr.”), others such as Sharon’s father and the father of her child appear in full colour.

Doyle’s subject, as with the other Barrytown trilogy titles, The Commitments and The Van, is the working class Rabbitte family. Most of the plot development takes place through fast paced dialogue, both funny and sensitive, such as this exchange where the Rabbitte parents, Jimmy Sr and Veronica, casually resume marital relations:

He was restless now and it wasn’t even half seven yet. He said it before he knew he was going to.

– I suppose a ride’s ou’ of the question.

– Hang on till I get this line done, said Veronica.

– Are yeh serious?

– I suppose so.

– Fuckin’ great, said Jimmy Sr. — It’s not even dark yet. You’re not messin’ now?

– No. Just let me finish this.

Jimmy Sr stood up.

– I’ll brush me teeth, he said.

– That’ll be nice, said Veronica.

All this works best, of course, when you read it in a Dublin accent, though for some odd reason I had to struggle to stop my internal voice from slipping into Liverpudlian.

Doyle never patronises his characters, but he doesn’t romanticise their lives either. There is a good deal of solid banter with Jimmy Sr and his mates Bimbo, Paddy and Bertie down the pub, and these secondary characters occasionally come to life too, even when just the Del Boy-style vehicle for a joke about a glut of calculators. Oddly, The Snapper made me laugh less than either his prior novel The Commitments, or his later books.

When Sharon discloses her pregnancy, there’s little conflict within the family (“Sure, that’s wha’ we were put down here for. To have snappers”), and the main engine of the plot is her relationship, or lack of it, with the father of her child. It is an all-encompassing performance: we are permitted to feel empathy even for the seedy middle-aged lothario who keeps Sharon’s panties in his pocket. Doyle expands into some impressively grim description when Sharon’s memories go back to the night in question, and her interior monologues in retrospect seem like stretching exercises for his later work. As with the book overall, they’re good, but you know he’s got more in him.

5 Comments »

  1. Stewart said,

    Oddly, The Snapper made me laugh less than either his prior novel The Commitments, or his later books.

    I don’t know. I remember laughing more at The Snapper than I did at The Commitments, although I was in stitches with The Van. I think a reread of The Barrytown Trilogy may be in my best interests in the near future.

  2. kimbofo said,

    This is one of those rare instances in which the film is better than the book, in my humble opinion. I’ve read the book twice, seen the film about a dozen times!

    The Barrytown Trilogy is one of my all-time favourite reads.

    Be interested in finding out what you think of A Star Called Henry. I didn’t particularly like it.

  3. jem said,

    When the time comes I’ll look forward to your views on ‘A Star Called Henry’ – I read it a while back and really enjoyed it – its a lot darker than most other Doyle as I recall.

  4. Mark said,

    As I recall, and it is a good wee while since I read this, the whole thing read (as does your extract) like a play. The book is very skeletal. And Kimbofo is right: it was just waiting to be turned into a film.

    Skeletal isn’t always bad, of course. The lack of so-called characterisation can be an avoidance of authorial intervention and cod-psychologlising, but in this case I think the book as book needed working up.

    Still, in parts, it is feckin’ funny!

  5. Phil Mason said,

    Well I laughed till I ciried when I read The Snapper. If anybody is remotely interested I have a book coming out in June 2011 called Developers – http://www.inspired-words.co.uk/products. In it I have tried to give a comic portrayal of a section of Irish society during the boom years of the Celtic Tiger…..I hope a few laughs are guaranteed.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,544 other followers

