March 25, 2008

Carson McCullers: The Member of the Wedding

Posted in McCullers Carson, Penguin Modern Classics at 11:08 am by John Self

Carson McCullers: another in the long line of writers I’ve heard so much about that I feel I’ve read them. My sight-unseen impression of McCullers is a sort of gentler Flannery O’Connor: Southern Gothic, loners, absurdity, not so many gorings. What better opportunity to test my ignorance than with the reissue of three of her novels in Penguin Modern Classics this month: her most famous, The Heart is a Lonely Hunter, her least famous (to me anyway), Clock Without Hands, and … this one.

The Member of the Wedding

The Member of the Wedding (1946) was McCullers’ third novel, and she was still only 29. I shan’t envy her that though, as by then she was half-paralysed from a series of strokes, and would die at the age of 50. Her sense of being an outsider, her simultaneous connection to and distance from her Southern homeland, and the blurring of sexuality which was epitomised in her choice of her genderless middle name as her professional title (her forename was Lula), are all present in this book.

Indeed much of it is there in the opening sentences:

It happened that green and crazy summer when Frankie was twelve years old. This was the summer when for a long time she had not been a member. She belonged to no club and was a member of nothing in the world.

I was surprised to recognise these lines, or maybe they just have that instant familiarity of greatness. The tone is reprised later (“This was the summer when Frankie was sick and tired of being Frankie” … “It was the year when Frankie thought about the world. And she did not see it as a round school globe, with the countries neat and different-coloured. She thought of the world as huge and cracked and loose and turning a thousand miles an hour”), so that it becomes almost mythic.

In fact Frankie does belong – she has a family, and she is part of a trio along with the housekeeper Berenice and her friend John Henry – but in a very human way, she wants the belonging that she cannot have: to be part of the wedding of her brother and his fiancée which is to take place the next day, and not just of the wedding but of the marriage. It is her sense of what she feels she lacks that defines her, and this is another sense in which she belongs with her two companions. Berenice shows both that some people at that time – black people, like her – really know what it’s like not to belong; and also that the marriage which Frankie longs to belong to can be a source of pain as much as pleasure. Berenice has been married several times:

Ludie Freeman was a brickmason, making a grand and regular salary, and he was the man of all her husbands that Berenice had loved.

‘Sometimes I almost wish I had never knew Ludie at all,’ said Berenice. ‘It spoils you too much. It leaves you too lonesome afterward. When you walk home in the evening on the way from work, it makes a little lonesome quinch come in you. And you take up with too many sorry men to try to get over the feeling. … I loved Ludie and he was the first man I loved. Therefore, I had to go and copy myself forever afterward. What I did was to marry off little pieces of Ludie whenever I come across them. It was just my misfortune they all turned out to be the wrong pieces.’

Berenice is a voice of experience and understanding throughout the book, and the long conversations which she, John Henry and Frankie meander through on the long summer afternoon illuminate the themes of the book.

‘We all of us somehow caught. We born this way or what way and we don’t know why. But we caught anyhow. I born Berenice. You born Frankie. John Henry born John Henry. And maybe we wants to widen and bust free. But no matter what we do we still caught. Me is me and you is you and he is he. We each one of us somehow caught all by ourself.’

The Member of the Wedding presents itself too as a coming-of-age novel, though really that’s the least of it, but Frankie does try to accelerate her development into womanhood by beginning to refer to herself as “F. Jasmine Addams” as the story progresses. As mentioned above, the vexed question of womanhood is also in Frankie’s mind, and it’s not always clear whether she is in love with the idea of marriage as a place of belonging, or with her brother’s bride, or with the couple both. According to Ali Smith’s excellent introduction – a 25-page essay on McCullers and her books [edit: expired link removed] – McCullers herself was unclear on the issue. It is these ambiguities – along with everything else – which help the book resonate in the mind deliciously.

Smith’s introduction – included here with a separate chronology of McCullers’ life (all modern classics should be like this!) – also tells us that “she drank all day, from breakfast onwards, for most of her adult years.” This reminded me of Patrick Hamilton, who at his creative peak was getting through three bottles of whisky a day (how did he find the time to write?). McCullers shares with Hamilton a sense of place so acute – he inhabited London, she the American South – that after reading her, the locations will be forever viewed through the prism of her literature. Which is as transfiguring, and a lot less problematic, than viewing it through the bottom of a glass.

18 Comments »

  1. chartroose said,

    Lovely book, lovely tribute. I adored Frankie, although my favorite McCullers character was Mr. Singer from “…Lonely Hunter.” I cried buckets at the end of that novel!

    Thanks, John. I’m heading over to Ali Smith’s essay right now.

  2. chartroose said,

    Drats! Ms. Smith’s article has been removed. Oh well :(

  3. John Self said,

    Ah, sorry about that chartroose – it was still there last week when I wrote the post above. I guess you’ll just have to buy the book now!

  4. kimbofo said,

    Stop! Stop! Stop! How dare you publish a photograph showing a trio of delicious-looking reissues. This means I’ve got to use the credit card again!! Hee, hee.

    I haven’t read this particular McCullers but I very much enjoyed The Heart is a Lonely Hunter (there’s a book group discussion about it somewhere on my blog) and I’ve been meaning to read more by her at some point.

  5. jem said,

    These books are a clear example of what repackaging can do for me. I’m sure I have passed over ‘The Heart is a Lonely Hunter’ many times, with a perhaps but perhaps not, thinking it too dated for my tastes, too American perhaps. But my interest was sparked as soon as I looked at your picture, and then the review further cemented the idea that I might like these books.

    I agree that good introductions can really help a reader connect with a novel, giving context and background detail. But I am always torn as to whether to read them first or after the story itself? sometimes they tend to tell you what the point of the story is, or is meant to be, or spoil it in some way. So usually I read the intro after the novel.

  6. John Self said,

    Oh I agree jem, always read the introduction after the book, not least because it would otherwise colour your own reading of it – indeed in this case, Smith’s introduction gives away one of the outcomes of the story (though this is flagged up at the start of her piece). Perhaps it’s just as well the link I posted to it has expired!

  7. Stewart said,

    I’ve been waiting for these to come out, having held off buying the silver classics for ages. What’s annoying is that Clock Without Hands seems to be unattainable, while the other two are already sitting on Waterstone’s shelves. By unattainable I say that, knowing Book Depository and Amazon are directing shoppers to abebooks or second hand sellers, respectively. Strange.

  8. suki said,

    I love McCullers. I am from the US and so maybe that’s why I read her in high school. Esp love “Hunters” so heart wrenching but also love “Member” which was a movie too i think.

  9. John Self said,

    Yes I am working my way up to the famous ones, suki.

    That is odd, Stewart. I mean I have a copy so obviously it exists, but even the Penguin website doesn’t list it, just the old 20th Century Classics edition.

  10. nico said,

    Hi John, wonderful posts lately! How great that you are into McCullers! i’ve read everything and am really fond of ‘The ballad of the sad cafe’, an impeccable novella. Merchant/Ivory made a film about it with Vanessa Redgrave, it’s quite literal and very well done! Cheers!

  11. John Self said,

    Thanks nico, much appreciated! I already have The Ballad of the Sad Cafe in the older Penguin format but might just wait until the new edition is released before reading it … Yes I am appalling, I know.

  12. JRSM said,

    I share that appalingness… I know I have a tattered old Clock Without Hands somewhere, but the new edition, if I can find it, looks nice…

  13. John Self said,

    Yes I didn’t initially realise when commenting on your blog, JRSM, that you’re in Australia. And now I see they have their own non-UK Penguin Modern Classics! What’s a guy to do??

  14. JRSM said,

    Penguin India and Penguin South Africa have been quietly releasing their own Penguin Modern Classics for a couple of years, too, just to make life difficult.

  15. Stewart said,

    A few of the South African Modern Classics have been turning up in book shops local to me, notably The Combat by Kole Omotoso. Nice to see they are using the silver with white stripe cover, even if I’m slowly being converted to the new UK look. (And I finally got Clock Without Hands.)

  16. John Self said,

    Oh and let’s not forget Penguin Canada, where Alice Munro is comprehensively Modern Classicised, and Brian Moore’s Black Robe gets its due.

  17. Lily said,

    Perhaps it is better to include not only some passages from the novel but the novel as a whole

  18. John Self said,

    Possible copyright issues there Lily, but thanks for the thought!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,420 other followers

